Lee, NH – The Pro Four Modifieds of New England (PFMNE) took to the seacoast oval, Lee USA Speedway, for the second event of their 2009 campaign on Friday, May 22. The event was also the first race of the Triple Crown Series presented by Bot-L-Gas and RF Logic. The race was slowed only once on lap- 23, but there was plenty of side-byside racing throughout the field with several lead changes. The #1m of Norm Wrenn found himself in victory lane for the second time as he fought his way back from the last position.

Eleven cars were signed into the paddock area, but mechanical failure kept the #13 of George Sherman and the #49 of Joe Lemay from starting the 25-lap main. Cory Cleary and Brian Vincent brought the nine-car field to post. At the drop of the green, the #10 of Brian Vincent claimed the lead as the #12 of Rob Richardi, Jr. and the #07 of Phil Lausier battled for the third position. Damage sustained from contact with another car forced Richardi, Jr. into the pits on lap five, parking his family-owned ride in the infield for the remainder of the event.

Wrenn, who was quickly making his way through the field, moved under the #83 of Jeff Zuidema— who was subbing for Franky Perry—to take over the third position on lap-7. From there, Wrenn set his sights on the leaders, as Vincent continued to lead with Cleary in tow. Meanwhile, Lausier and the #68 of John Booth were battling for position, with Lausier having the advantage at the line. On lap 12, Cleary moved up to the top groove on the outside of Vincent, completing the pass as the scoreboard clicked to 14. Two laps later, Wrenn passed Vincent for the bridesmaid position and started closing the distance between himself and the leader, Cleary. On lap 23, Lausier spun in the center of turns one and two, necessitating the lone yellow-flag of the event. The result would be a green-whitecheckered finish. Cleary led the field on the restart, but as the white flag was unfurled Wrenn, in his #1m Pro Four, powered by Cleary en route to his second victory in as many races.

Wrenn was followed closely by Cleary – who overcame mechanical woes in practice to finish second – and Vincent. Jeff Zuidema and Stan Mertz rounded out the top five with John Booth, Billy Joerres, Phil Lausier, and Rob Richard, Jr. rounding out the field.

The PFMNE’s next event will be Saturday, May 30, as they join the weekly divisions of the Waterford Speedbowl for the Budweiser Modified Nationals.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *